The Gem of Quezon Province – Cagbalete Island

There are many nice to amazing beaches that can be found in Quezon Province. One of many is known to most – Cagbalete Island.

It was the Pope’s visit to Philippines that made it a long weekend for all. Though this decision to make it a holiday was caused to make sure that this rare event will not turn into a disaster/unfortunate event, we still opt to make sure that we will not add to the crowd in Manila during these days.

Prior to this travel, I was also not in a good state as I was struggling to finish my thesis which will be my gate pass to graduate on the coming summer.  I am honestly stressed, pressured and drowning with all the work needed to make it possible. And with all these happenings, I know I need a break.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
At Mauban Port – Taking the only trip that day to the island… 

Going to the island isn’t really hard. It only requires a lot of sleep in the bus and another sleep to the next bus. Hahahahaha To make it short, it was a long bus trip going to the port where you can ride a passenger boat. The boat only travel once a day. When there’s a lot of tourist, they will add another trip to accommodate them.  In our experience, we were able to take the first and only trip that day. Lucky, shalalala! 😀

IMG_3493
Passenger boat costs P50/person

From JAC Liner in Gil Puyat Terminal to Lucena, it will take 4-5 hours of your time. Add another 1-2 hours travel time once you take the mini bus going to Mauban Port.

(Tip:  There are vans that caters those who wish to arrive faster to Mauban Port but the fare is higher than the latter.)

 

 

Surprisingly, there’s not much of a crowd at the time we went there. The sea was also high – enough for us to float and swim according to our heights and abilities. Hahaha (We are not a good swimmer, you know!)

Note: This place is known for usual low tides or as they usually jokes, “Walang bantang pagkalunod sa Cagbalete.”

 

Cagbalete did not fail to give me the break I needed. From fresh air coming from the near hills to quiet mornings.

 

I have loved the place. Honestly. If I would rate my experience, I will make it 9/10.

Why not perfect? Because I honestly got the worse service from an “X Resort” where I have asked to cook for us. But because they cater to a larger group, they have unbelievably forgotten about us. We got hungry for a short period of time.  Good thing that there are houses near the resort who sells food.

That is not a rant.  I am just giving you a tip that in case that happened again, you can get food outside the resorts. Hahaha but nevertheless,  all below are absolute!

✅ White sand

✅  Tent Space

✅ Cheap Food

✅ Blue Water

✅  Quiet Place

In every place I set foot into, I always hope that I may still see the place beautifully preserved in case I’ll be given a chance to get in here again.

 

So beach goers,

Let us maintain the quietness and serenity in this little gem.

 

Aloha,

Joey 

 

 

Add/Follow me:

FB:  www.facebook.com/theadventourist1

IG:  itsjoeysjoy

Please do not hesitate to like, follow, share my article if you happen to read it.  Thank you!

 

 

Leave a comment